Hart Memorial Trophy - Montreal Forum

1936 - 1939
2313 Ste-Catherine O.

The Hart Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the Most Valuable Player in the National Hockey League. The Professional Hockey Writers’ Association selects the recipient of the award. The original Hart Trophy was donated to the league in 1923 by Dr. David Hart, father of famed Montreal Canadiens’ coach Cecil Hart. Cecil Hart’s major achievement in coaching the Canadiens occurred during the 1929–1930 and 1930–1931 seasons, when the team won the championship twice in a row. Hart was fired as the team’s coach in 1932, but was rehired due to popular demand in 1936. Hart’s team never regained the championship during his last years of coaching them, but his influence and popularity as coach remained intact.

David and Cecil Hart were descendants of Aaron Hart, the most well known founder of Montreal and Canada’s Jewish community in the 1760s. The Hart Memorial Trophy was presented by the National Hockey League in 1960 after the original Hart Trophy was retired to the NHL Hall of Fame. It was dedicated to the memory of Cecil Hart, who died in 1940. Wayne Gretsky currently stands as the most awarded player; he earned it nine times, eight of which were consecutive. Sixteen Montreal Canadiens players have also won the award.

Compiled by Valérie Beauchemin and David Gilbert.



Hockey Hall of Fame - Hart Memorial Trophy’s History
NHL Awards – Hart Memorial Trophy


Hart Memorial Trophy.” National Hockey League. Online.

Leonetti, Mike and Jean Beliveau. Canadiens Legends: Montreal’s Hockey Heroes. Vancouver: Raincoast Books, 2003.

Our History.” Montreal Canadiens. Online.

*The images are courtesy of the Club de hockey Canadien inc. and the CJCCCNA.